Osprey logo

Sponsors of the MHM Book of the Year award

MHM has curated a list of 2018’s best military history titles: the nominees for this year’s Military History Monthly book awards. Our selection includes some of the best-researched, most-insightful, and most-readable titles reviewed and featured in the magazine over the last year. But we need your help to select the winners!

Read a review of each nominated book here, then cast your vote below.

MHM Book of the Year 2019

Loading ... Loading ...

Voting closes on 11 February 2019.

The winners will be announced at Senate House in London on 8 March as part of Current Archaeology Live! 2019, an annual 2-day conference run by our sister magazine Current Archaeology, and hosted by the Institute of Classical Studies.

The MHM Book Awards are sponsored by Osprey Publishing. Osprey Publishing, part of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC, is the leading publisher of illustrated military history. Now in its 50th year, Osprey has published thousands of titles on a range of subjects from ancient times to the present day.




  1. Phillip Dawe
    December 2, 2018 @ 10:04 pm

    Excellent Book!


  2. Douglas Flower
    December 5, 2018 @ 4:19 pm

    Never lets you down . A fascinating read.


  3. Arnotte
    December 6, 2018 @ 3:06 pm

    Fantastic read!


  4. Sophie hassan
    December 6, 2018 @ 8:57 pm

    A fascinating read


  5. Jennifer Harris
    December 6, 2018 @ 9:01 pm

    Excellent well researched book


  6. John Macdonald
    December 10, 2018 @ 7:40 pm

    First rate. Very well researched and written.


  7. David Goble
    December 13, 2018 @ 11:11 am

    A very well researched book indeed. Having a grandfather who served in the RNAS makes this a particularly interesting read.


Leave a Reply